The Annual Maurice English Poetry Reading: Paul Muldoon

We're sorry, but all tickets sales have ended because the event is expired.

Date / Time

  • April 23, 2018
    5:30 pm - 7:00 pm


2008-2010 Delancey Place, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19103, United States

The Maurice English Poetry Reading, established by Helen Drutt English and Deirdre Elena English to honor the memory of the late poet Maurice English, presents each year a distinguished poet for readings in Philadelphia and New York. Previously held at Storm King Art Center in New York, beginning in 2018 the Maurice English Poetry Reading will be held jointly at the Rosenbach in Philadelphia and the American Irish Historical Society in New York City.

Salon | 5:30 p.m.
Program | 6:00 p.m.

About the Speaker

Paul Muldoon is the Howard G.B. Clark ’21 University Professor in the Humanities, Director of the Princeton Atelier, and Professor of Creative Writing at Princeton University. He was Founding Chair of the Lewis Center for the Arts and has served as Poetry Editor of The New Yorker from 2007 to 2017. His main collections of poetry are New Weather (1973), Mules (1977), Why Brownlee Left (1980), Quoof (1983), Meeting The British (1987), Madoc: A Mystery (1990), The Annals of Chile (1994), Hay (1998), Poems 1968-1998 (2001), Moy Sand and Gravel (2002), Horse Latitudes (2006), Maggot (2010), One Thousand Things Worth Knowing (2015), and Poems 1968-2014 (2016).

A Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Letters, Paul Muldoon was given an American Academy of Arts and Letters award in literature for 1996. Between 1999 and 2004 he was Professor of Poetry at the University of Oxford, where he is an honorary Fellow of Hertford College. Other recent awards are the 1994 T. S. Eliot Prize, the 1997 Irish Times Poetry Prize, the 2003 Pulitzer Prize, the 2003 Griffin International Prize for Excellence in Poetry, the 2004 American Ireland Fund Literary Award, the 2004 Shakespeare Prize, the 2005 Aspen Prize for Poetry, the 2006 European Prize for Poetry, and, most recently, Queen Elizabeth’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2017. He has been described by The Times Literary Supplement as “the most significant English-language poet born since the second World War.”